germaitaly.blogg.se

Does spinrite 6 work with osx
Does spinrite 6 work with osx










does spinrite 6 work with osx
  1. #Does spinrite 6 work with osx install#
  2. #Does spinrite 6 work with osx software#
  3. #Does spinrite 6 work with osx Pc#

There is current work being done to fix this limitation. This is no longer a problem.Īnother note is that currently, every time you restart your system, the L2ARC has to warm up, it does not currently save state. What you are talking about is an limination with the ZIL with an older version of ZFS, but not too long ago. nigh-impossible without wiping the volumes in the process.) I have an SSD cache defined, but I think to replace the ssd cache with a larger drive in the future looks. Hopefully somethings recoverable at some point.There ARE a couple features that look really annoying. Thanks for the advice, I'll keep trying things. I can get a working system sometimes, like if I have no drives plugged in and boot into Ubunutu, but it's sporadic enough that I still can't figure out what the deal is. I may need to pick up a Blacx to see how they do with my Macbook.

#Does spinrite 6 work with osx install#

The problem I have with testing drives one-by-one is they're all HSF+ formatted, and without being able to boot into the OS X install disc or Ubunutu Live I'm having trouble actually figuring out which are working. The power supply is getting on in age, I'll try to track down another one if I can't find another problem. I'll bring it back down to stock though until I get things back up and running. The machine is overclocked, but has been since day 1. If all of that fails, I would say you have a controller failure at the very least. If you still have issues, grab a different drive. If you have issues there, move it to the secondary. I would start with 1 drive as a master on the primary. Possibly a power supply on it's way out? Or, if it's as old as you make it seem, possibly some ruptured caps? gah, I remember upgrading to 6.0 when it came out, seems like eons ago.Ĭpk0 - I'll assume no, but any overclocking on that machine? I remember way back when that if I upped the FSB to much, it screwed with the PCI bus and gave me a lot of ATA controller weirdness. I don't see why it won't work as well today as it did back then. I would routintely have a few machines on my benches running SR at the same time.

#Does spinrite 6 work with osx Pc#

Back during my PC repair days, it recovered many a drive for me and my customers, probably hundreds if not into the thousands. Is there any way to check that? Or anyone have any ideas for tracking down something else that might cause these issues? (I know I wasn't very clear on what the issue is, but I'm not really sure what's going on) Once it gets into Ubuntu or the OS X installer, stuff works fine, so all I can think is it's an issue with the ATA controller. Loading the OS X install cd from the boot loader, which is usually fool proof, is now hit or miss, sometimes giving block errors. Things like: loading the Ubuntu live cd, using a CD OS X boot loader, loading the OS X install CD all take significantly longer than they should.

#Does spinrite 6 work with osx software#

This is a hackintosh that's been running fine for years, and I haven't made any software changes recently.

does spinrite 6 work with osx

What doesn't make sense is that everything else is having issues now also. That seemed to kill the boot drive (I get an error when loading the boot loader), which makes sense There was no clicking, and I wasn't going to wait 100 hours for it to finish so I just killed the power. The first real issue I ran into was Spinrite kept running on the boot drive (no errors), but I couldn't interact with it.

does spinrite 6 work with osx

I also ran Spinrite on my backup drive (fine) and my boot drive. issues, since that's the only drive I really care about. Yesterday I ran Spinrite on my system drive to try and incite any mech. I turn off the PC because I didn't want to deal with it then. So I'm really not sure what my problem is, so if this sounds like something other than ATA issues please tell me.įew days ago one of the drives in my tower starts clicking.












Does spinrite 6 work with osx